Harbour Masters.—Under the provisions of part 12 of the Canada Shipping Act there is appointed in 171 less important harbours an officer known as the harbour master, who has charge of the harbour and whose duty it is to enforce the regulations made under the Act for the administration of public harbours. He receives his remuneration from the fees levied on vessels using the harbour and operates under the direct control of the Department of Marine and Fisheries.

8.—The International Joint Commission.

This Commission, created in accordance with the terms of the Treaty of 1909, consists of six members, three appointed by the President of the United States and three by the King on the recommendation of the Government of Canada.¹ These do not function as separate national sections but as one international body. There is a Canadian Chairman and an American Chairman, each of whom presides at meetings held on his own side of the boundary. There are also two Secretaries, one having charge of the Commission's offices in Ottawa and the other of the offices in Washington. The Commission holds two fixed meetings, one in Ottawa on the first Tuesday in October and the other in Washington on the first Tuesday in April. Other meetings or public hearings are held at such times and places as the two Chairmen shall determine.

The present members of the Commission are: (Canada) Charles A. Magrath, Chairman, Henry A. Powell, Sir William H. Hearst, Lawrence J. Burpee, Secretary; (United States) Clarence D. Clark, Chairman, Fred T. Dubois, P. J. McCumber, William H. Smith, Secretary.

In broad terms the purpose of the International Joint Commission is, in the language of the preamble of the Treaty, to "prevent disputes regarding the use of boundary waters and to settle all questions which are now pending between the United States and the Dominion of Canada involving the rights, obligations, or interests of either in relation to the other or to the inhabitants of the other, along their common frontier, and to make provision for the adjustment and settlement of all such questions as may hereafter arise".

Under the authority vested in it by the Treaty, the Commission's functions are threefold: -By Articles III, IV and VIII it has final authority over all cases involving the use or diversion for domestic and sanitary, navigation, power or irrigation purposes, of boundary waters between Canada and the United States, or of waters flowing across the boundary, or waters flowing from boundary waters, in the event of such diversion on one side of the boundary affecting the level or flow of waters on the other side of the boundary. By Article IX it becomes an investigatory body, to examine into and report upon any questions or matters of difference between the two countries arising along the common frontier, referred to it for that purpose by either government. Finally, by Article X, it is made a Court of Appeal for the final settlement of "any questions or matters of differences arising between the High Contracting Parties involving the rights, obligations, or interests of the United States or of the Dominion of Canada, either in relation to each other or to their respective inhabitants". Under Article X the Commission is therefore a miniature Hague Tribunal for the settlement of all questions at issue between these two countries; and perhaps it is equally true to say that, taking into consideration the scope

For the text of the Treaty, see the 1911 Statutes (I-2 Geo. V, c. 18).